Return to Headlines

MLK Scholarship Awardees

New London Public Schools congratulates our five recipients of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Trust Fund. Scholars are chosen based on their dedication to learning, character and understanding of Dr. King’s mission. Each recipient receives $20,000 distributed in $5000 installments over a four-year period while the scholar remains in college. This year’s recipients from New London High School Multi Magnet Campus are Meggan Coronel Marca, Nazariah Isaac, Falens Joseph, Syeda Raza, and Kmara Royster.

"We are so very proud of all five of our MLK scholarship recipients. Each one of them has earned it through their hard work, leadership and commitment to continuing the equity work Dr. Martin Luther King was so passionate about," expressed Principal Bryan Mahon.

On October 20th, scholars and their families are invited to the 41st Annual Awards Ceremony to be recognized for their achievements. The ceremony will take place in person at the Mystic Marriott at 5:30 pm.

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship awards students who demonstrate outstanding community service and interest in advancing the legacy and philosophy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and are pursuing a baccalaureate degree at an accredited college/university.